Jenkins Youth Leadership Award

Bill Jenkins photoThe Jenkins Youth Leadership Award honors William C. (Bill) Jenkins. As a 29-year Scottsdale High School teacher and Scottsdale Mayor (1974 – 1980), Bill worked tirelessly for his students in the Social Sciences department and as their student government advisor. As a mayor, Bill took Scottsdale through rapid growth and through a recession. His accomplishments were many and included: building the first Scottsdale Senior Center, as well as completing the City Hall, Vista del Camino and Indian Bend Wash Greenbelt projects. Bill was a classic example of an unassuming, genuine, community-minded man.

The Jenkins Youth Leadership Award includes a $2,000 gift. Nominees must be in grades 11 or 12 (academic year) and meet one of these criteria:

  • Attends a school within SUSD;
  • Resides at a Scottsdale address or;
  • Attends a school with a Scottsdale address 

Nominators must be an adult other than a parent, guardian or sibling of the nominee.

Nominations are closed.

Nominees must represent Bill’s passion for leadership and community with these qualifications:

  • Demonstrating excellent leadership at home, at school and in the community
  • Exhibiting initiative and leadership potential in setting and achieving short and long-term goals
  • Exhibiting an understanding of the skills effective leaders possess

Jenkins Youth Leadership Award / Scholarship Recipients

2019- Christopher Griffin

2018- Adway Gopakumar

2017 – Rachel Zoneraich

2016 – Jordyn Blew

2015 – Grace Taskinsoy

2014 – Sydney A. Allen

2013 – Karlene D. McCauley

2012 – Sage Knapp

2011 – Melissa Conrad


2010 – Noelle Rabiah

2009 – Benjamin Johnson

2008 – Theresa Kyte

2007 – Kaylie Marsh

2006 – Janelle Brown

2005 – JiaQi Bao & Maxwell Kanter

2004 – Tyler Parafinik

2003 – Brandon Curtis